Three candidates submit nomination papers for FERWAFA Presidency

Three candidates namely incumbent president Nzamwita Vincent, Madam Rwemalika Felicite, vice president of Rwanda Olympic committee and Louis Rurangirwa, a former president of Rwanda Athletics Federation have submitted their nomination papers seeking to run for the presidency of Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA).

With Tuesday, November 28 being the deadline for submission of intent to any Rwandan interested to vie the country’s football top seat, incumbent Nzamwita Vincent was the first to submit his nomination form before the FERWAFA Electoral Commission.

Nzamwita was accompanied by Miroplast secretary general Eng. Nshimiyimana Alexis, United Stars president Ngendahayo Vedaste and Gicumbi Fc Secretary General Dukuzimana Antoine.

The FERWAFA Executive Committee member in charge of women football who also doubles as the vice president of Rwanda Olympic and Sport Committee Rwemalika was the second to submit her bid at 16:15 beating the deadline by forty five minutes.

She was represented by Gasabo United president Raoul Gisanura, in company of Heroes Fc president Kanamugire Fidele and current member of the FERWAFA Legal Committee Rutagenga Safari.

With a minute left to the deadline of the submission process, former president of the Rwanda Athletics Federation and referee, Rurangirwa Louis who came unaccompanied presented his bid to the electoral commission.

According to the FERWAFA Electoral Commission president Adolphe Kalisa, nomination papers of the three candidates were received and will undergo scrutiny between November 29 to December 1, 2017.

Then from December 8, they will receive petitions and hear appeals if any before the official declaration of candidates for the FERWAFA presidency is done on December 11. It is at this moment that the official list of each approved aspiring candidate will be announced.

Declared Candidates will then start official campaigning which will last until December 29, 2017 before the elections are held on December 30 in an elective FERWAFA general assembly.

Nzamwita has been president of Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA) since January 2014.

The newly elected Ferwafa president and his Executive Committee will serve a four-year term from 2018 to 2021.

Ntakirutimana Deus